Airsoft Sniper Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,

I've been playing airsoft for a few years now and own a couple of guns. These are mainly AEG rifles, GBB pistols and bolt-action sniper rifles. For my next gun I am looking into buying a DMR. However, after some research getting my hands on a good DMR isn't as easy as it was with the other types of guns. As such, I am looking for some advice. On my local field(s) a DMR has the following important requirements:

• Should technically not be able to shoot full-auto (semi only)
  • Maximum of 440 FPS (+ 10 FPS margin)
  • Low cap magazines only (90 bbs)

Additionally, I have read that on some fields your gun has to be a replica of a real-steel DMR. It might be good taking that into account as well.

My current understanding is that a DMR has to be built as it almost never comes out-of-the-box. First, I have to choose a basic platform I like the looks of and which maybe has some decent parts in it already. Then I have to upgrade a lot of parts in this rifle in order to turn it into a real DMR. Until now I have done some basic mainentance on my guns, but never have I changed an internal part. I've found some guides around the topic, but most of these are definetly not the most comprehensive/up-to-date.

Then there is the cost. When discussing the topic with my local store they told me the conversion would cost somewhere between 250 and 450 euro's. This is on top of the cost of the base gun. This sounds very expensive. Especially since you can, for example, buy Novritsch's SSX303 for around 300 euro's (+ maybe 150 euro's on attachments). I know gas based rifles have their disadvantages, but this does look like a very good value proposition in comparison to building my own. Especially since it should work great out-of-the-box.

My questions are as follows:

• What base gun would you recommend to build my DMR with? Preferably something that is easily available in EU