Airsoft Sniper Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, looking for advice on cyma m14 v7 gearbox.
Im new to teching and especially the v7 gearbox. I managed to replace the spring for a sp120 and metal spring guide and it works fine, but i wanted more fps so i orderded a sp130 spring and a lonex v7 cylinder head, as my standard cylinder head has crappy compression and lets by. (Everything else is stock)
I installed the sp130 and new cylinder head, then my problems started. I closed the gearbox and tried to test fire but it locked up. I disassembled again made sure everything was lined up, closed and it did the same again. Open gearbox again, tried the old sp120 spring and lock up again. Put old cylinder head and still locks up. This time i broke a tooth on the sector gear which damaged the piston teeth.
I have ordered a new gearbox and put everything back to stock on my slightly broken gearbox, to keep as spares, but i tested it now it worked first time.
So my question is, is there an incorrect way to line up all the gears when reassembling a gearbox, ie does the sector gear have to be in a specific position like 12 oclock and lined up on first tooth of piston or doesn't this matter?
I didn't think it mattered as the sector gear rotates, then picks up the piston.
I was thinking maybe the piston jumped off the rail to guide it when i put in the stronger springs. Its near on impossible to see if its lined up when i close the gearbox.
Is an sp130 too strong for stock motor to work?
I have cut a small window in the old case so I can now see if the piston is lined up. I will try this when my new gearbox gets delivered.
I dont want to damage the new gearbox so a bit worried about opening it.

·
Registered
1,594 Posts