Airsoft Sniper Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone

I was browsing around looking at ghillie suit materials, and stumbled on this site:

http://www.ghilliesuitplus.com/products/ghillie-suit-kits.html

(That link is to the product I'm thinking of getting)

It looks like a decent deal, and would make my life a lot easier because I don't want to buy a pre-made ghillie, but I think getting all the materials would be a bit of a pain and I'm still really new to this. Also, after seeing the post about ghillie blankets, I'm considering doing that, and this kit would give me everything I need except an actual blanket.

Anyways, my main topics:

1. Any tips or advice on getting this vs. making it myself (advantages/disadvantages, if any)?

2. I was thinking of getting either "Leafy" or "Woodland"

I'd add pictures of where I play, but I can only figure out how to attach them (any help here would be appreciated
)

Anyways, any thoughts, advice, tips, etc?

·
Registered
133 Posts
Get desert. Its easier to veg something to make it darker, but almost impossible to make it lighter. Thats been my experence. Plus when you mud it up it will become darker. So if you do get it stay away from majority green jute.

·
Registered
205 Posts
I bought the UK version of that kit about five or six years ago.
The woodland kit comes with the same colours as the other "green" kits except that it has black and dark brown. The dark brown is usable but the black is simply too black. It stands out too much against natural shadow.
Be prepared to tie literally thousands of knots.
It took me two weeks to finish and that was working on it for two hours nearly everyday... Two hours is a LONG time to spend kneeling on the floor tying knots onto a net.
You might be a knot tying genius and it'll be finished in a few days, who knows?