Airsoft Sniper Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seeing as my A&K SVD's sear just decided to poop out on me, I am in need of a new gun. As you all could probably tell, I'm a fan of Eastern Bloc stuff, so I prefer to use AKs, SVDs and Makarovs. Seeing as an SVD is out of the question, I'm left with an AK.

My current plan is to get an AK and make it into a nail driver. I really don't want to spend much on the base gun, because it will stop mattering once I install an R-Hop and fuss with the gearbox. I'd just like to know if it is feasible to make a DMR out of a DBoys or CYMA AK. I know that both suffice very well for an assault rifle, but I am new to long-range builds in general, so I am unaware if the AK is suitable for a DMR.

If an AK DMR is feasible, I'll also need help with my shopping list. If R-hop installation goes south (knowing me, it will), I'll probably have to rely on a normal hop up unit. That, and I doubt DBoys or CYMA have good barrels OTB.

My desired specs are as such (and they are pretty simple, and probably modest compared to most builds):
400 FPS (already taken care of)
Ability to hit a torso at 250ft
Propensity to not die

Spasiba,
Defgun

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's currently out of stock. I'd like to wait, but I'll need a gun in the meantime.

That, and the sear was not the only source of my SVD's downfall. The selector and safety assembling had also sustained damage, not to mention the fact that my barrel had to undergo some surgery to correct the crooked barrel window, and that said surgery had some complications.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·